

## NIFA SAFECON 2016 NATIONAL BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES By Richard G. Smith, III on Sat., May 14, 2016

1. NIFA / OSU Personnel Present:

Hannah Burress, President SAFECON 2016 Glenn McConnell, NIFA Council Chairman Richard G. Smith, III, NIFA E. D. Adam Stiffler, NIFA Treasurer Scott Vlasek, NIFA Treasurer Scott Vlasek, NIFA Council Dennis Morgan, NIFA Council Student Rep. Jim Higgins, NIFA Council Erich Hess, NIFA Council David Todd, NIFA Council Nate Schmidt, NIFA Council Brian Hart, NIFA Council Taylor Newman, NIFA Council Carolyn Carpp, NIFA Council Les Westbrooks, NIFA Council Darryl Stubbs, NIFA Council Eric Barton, NIFA Council Jeff Guynes, NIFA Council Sean Breen, NIFA Council Brian Hough, NIFA Council Marty Coaker, NIFA Council Jared Testa, NIFA Council

- 2. <u>Call To Order</u> Richard Smith called the meeting to order at 11:00 AM EDT on Sat., May 14, 2016 in OSU Airport Hangar 7.
- <u>Roll Call</u> Richard Smith called the roll. 24 NIFA Member-Schools had representatives present and responded to the Roll Call (SAFECON 2016 Competitor Teams Ohio University & Southeastern Oklahoma State University were absent). Each NIFA Member-School responding was reminded that it had 5 votes = a total number of votes being 120.
- 4. NIFA Bylaw Changes
  - A. Carolyn Carpp reviewed each of the Bylaws Proposals No. 1 No. 4. There was some discussion and, subsequently, Texas State Technical College moved that the Bylaws changes be discussed and voted on individually. That motion was accepted unanimously.
  - B. NIFA Bylaws Proposal No. 1 "Elimination of NIFA Board of Directors Language" – after some discussion, the proposal was accepted unanimously.

- C. NIFA Bylaws Proposal No. 2 "National SAFECON Host School Invitation Options" – after some discussion the proposal was accepted by a vote of 115 "yes" and 5 "no."
- D. Following some discussion, a Texas State Technical College moved that NIFA Bylaws Proposal No. 4 be deliberated upon before NIFA Bylaws Proposal No.
  3. That motion was accepted unanimously.
- E. NIFA Bylaws Proposal No. 4 "NIFA Annual Business Meeting Be Presided Over By the NIFA Council Chairman." That proposal was accepted by a vote of 117 "yes" and 3 "no."
- F. NIFA Bylaws Proposal No. 3 "Add a Second NIFA Council Student Representative" – After some discussion, Texas State Technical College moved to amend 3.8.F. to "Must be returning to school for at least one (1) full school year after election." This motion was accepted unanimously. The amended proposal was then accepted unanimously.
- 5. <u>NIFA Rule Changes</u> None were presented or discussed.
- 6. <u>Election of the NIFA Council Student Representative for the 2015-2016 NIFA</u> <u>Competition Year</u>
  - A. Dennis Morgan's was nominated for a second term as NIFA Council Student Representative. Dennis ran unopposed. Dennis' election was by a unanimous vote; his new term was extended from July 01, 2016 through June 30, 2017.
  - B. Four NIFA-Member Students ran for the second NIFA Council Student Representative position. They were Eric Beets (University of Wisconsin), Caleb Ullman (University of Nebraska-Omaha), Calvin Warren (Lewis University) and Lindsey Hurley (Texas State Technical College). No candidate won by a majority on the first vote, so there was a run-off election between Eric Beet and Lindsey Hurley; Eric Beets won by a vote of 65 – 55.
- <u>SAFECON 2017</u> As The Ohio State University was the sole bidder to host SAFECON 2017, The Ohio State University will host SAFECON 2017 at KOSU from Tue., May 09, 2017 through Sun., May 14, 2017.
- SAFECON 2018 Bids Due at NIFA Headquarters by approximately Nov. 15, 2016.
- 9. The NIFA Annual Business Meeting was adjourned at 12:20 PM EDT on Sat., May 14, 2016.