

NIFA Announces National SAFECON 2024 Dates, Location, & Invitations

Chattanooga, TN - November 6, 2023 - The National Intercollegiate Flying Association is pleased to announce the National SAFECON 2024 will take place in Janesville, WI at the Southern Wisconsin Regional Airport (KJVL) from May 13-18, 2024.

Throughout the month of October, 602 contestants, representing 45 member schools, competed in 9 Regional SAFECONs throughout the U.S. As per Section 11 of the NIFA Bylaws, NIFA officially extends invitations for the National SAFECON 2024 to the following teams and Regional Top Pilot:

	Regional SAFECON				
	Champion	Additional Invitations			
Region 1	US Air Force Academy	Metro State University - Denver	Utah State University	Rocky Mountain College	
Region 2	Embry Riddle Aero. Univ Prescott	San Jose State University	California Aeronautical University		
Region 3	Western Michigan University	Kent State University	The Ohio State University		
Region 4	LeTourneau University	Oklahoma State University	Southeastern Oklahoma State Univ.	Louisiana Tech University	
Region 6	University of North Dakota	University of Nebraska-Omaha	St. Louis UnivParks College	Minnesota State UnivMankato	
Region 7	Bridgewater State University	US Military Academy			
Region 8	Southern Illinois University	Purdue University	Lewis University		
Region 9	Embry Riddle Aero. Univ Daytona	Auburn University	Jacksonville University	Polk State College	
Region 10	Liberty University	Averett University	US Naval Academy	Elizabeth City State Univ.	

Michael Einwich, Kansas State University - Salina - Region VI Top Pilot

Per *The Rules for Intercollegiate SAFECONs* Section I.E.1, the NIFA Executive Committee has set a deadline of February 13, 2024 for qualifying teams to confirm their intent to attend and compete in SAFECON 2024. A registration deposit of \$500 is due by this date to retain an invitation. The deposit will be applied to the final total cost of each team's registration fees.

Should a qualifying team decline their invitation, the next ranked team in that region will be offered the opportunity. If no teams remain in the region, alternate invitation(s) will be extended based on the attached ranking sheet, as calculated per NIFA bylaw 11.12. The Executive Director has a deadline of April 13, 2024 to extend invitations, in order, to the following alternate teams. All efforts will be made to notify an alternate team of their invitation, as soon as possible, should a slot be vacated by a qualifying team sooner than the deadline.

List of Alternate Schools (NIFA Bylaw 11.12)

- 1. Bowling Green State University
- 2. Kansas State University Salina
- 3. Florida Institute of Technology
- 4. University of Central Missouri
- 5. Aims Community College
- 6. University of Oklahoma
- 7. Ohio University
- 8. University of Dubuque
- 9. Hesston College
- 10. Mt. San Antonio College
- 11. Colorado Northwestern Comm. College
- 12. Texas State Technical College
- 13. Hampton University
- 14. Broward University

NIFA would like to thank all schools, hosts, and volunteers for a safe Regional SAFECON 2023 season. Details on National SAFECON 2024, including registration process, accommodations group rates, arrival briefing, and Chief Judge updates are forthcoming. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Media inquires may be directed to media@nifa.aero

Rank	School	AC REC	СА	SCAN	Total
	Embry Riddle Aero. Univ Prescott	1096	1117	1099	3312
	University of North Dakota	1050	1090	1066	3225
	Embry Riddle Aero. Univ Daytona	891	1016	1045	2952
	Southern Illinois University	983	1010	903	2900
	United States Air Force Academy	988	962	945	2895
	Auburn University	988	957	948	2893
	Western Michigan University	937	844	914	2695
	The Ohio State University	885	987	763	2635
	Purdue University	795	738	860	2393
	LeTourneau University	863	694	802	2359
	Oklahoma State University	910	753	609	2335
	Liberty University	635	833	755	2272
	University of Nebraska - Omaha	596	831	733	2150
	Kent State University	736	602	755	2093
	Minnesota State Univ Mankato	609	921	535	2093
	St. Louis Univ Parks College	571	669	726	1966
	Bridgewater State University	513	463	720	1766
	San Jose State University	758	292	648	1698
	Bowling Green State University	703	639	286	1628
	Kansas State University Polytechnic	567	556	440	1563
		654	632	254	1503
	Utah State University	459	657	423	
	Lewis University	439 327	413	772	1539
	Jacksonville University	462	413 512	498	1512
	Florida Institute of Technology University of Central Missouri	462	430	498 583	1472 1463
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
	Aims Community College	443	445 372	556	1444
	University of Oklahoma Ohio University	461 506	462	601 459	1434 1427
		373	402 516	439	1383
	Rocky Mountain College	678	237	463	
	Averett University Polk State College	501	401	405	1378 1335
	Metropolitan State Univ. of Denver	462	292	435 579	1333
	United States Naval Academy	359	533	419	1355
	California Aeronautical University	359	533	387	1311
	Louisiana Tech University	468	364	432	1307
	University of Dubuque	283	416	432 511	1264
	Southeastern Oklahoma State Univ	366	416	366	1210
		366	385	366	
	Elizabeth City State University Hesston College	392 145	385		1166
				633	1113
	Mt. San Antonio College Colorado Northwestern Comm. Col.	358 189	310 327	335 461	1003 977
		240	207	461	900
	Texas State Technical College				
	Hampton University	319	224	173	716
	United States Military Academy	273	235	194 95	702 510
45	Broward College	218	207	85	510

Bylaw 11.12 Rank for determining Alternate Invitations

*Highlighted schools have not received invitations but are on the alternate list according to their ranking here